This coach was used for many years to carry passengers between Francestown and Greenfield, N.H., as well as over other lines. It has always been in the town and is jointly owned by the Francestown Historical Society and the Town. Photo courtesy and copyrighted by Chuck Bourbeau.
|Concord Coach Photos
Believed to have been built for the Hon. Ginery Twichell this coach is now owned by Mr. & Mrs. Edward Cowles.
Photo courtesy and copyrighted by Charles Bourbeau
This coach came from the Black Hills and was sold to Chris van Tilburg who has put it on display at La Diligence,a carriage museum in Heerlen, the Netherlands.
This nine-passenger hotel coach, finished in 1866 by the Abbot-Downing Company of Concord, was built to specifications of the Sayward-Durgin Stage Company of Centre Harbor, New Hampshire.
It is possible that this coach was driven by one of New Hampshire's best-known drivers, Charles Sanborn of Pittsfield.
The painting on the port door of the coach is a copy of the famous painting by Frank H. Shapleigh of the Notch House in Crawford Notch.
The coach was discovered in a barn in western Massachusetts in 1987 by Ronald D. Daniels of Henniker, who oversaw its restoration for the Concord Monitor. Restoration of coach 113 took two-and-a-half years.
Following detailed specifications recorded in an original Abbot-Downing order book, the coach was faithfully restored to its factory-new condition.
The coach is on display in the lobby of the Concord Monitor in Concord, New Hampshire.